Author Topic: Painting German vehicles  (Read 3973 times)

Stuart

• Cadet
    • View Profile
Painting German vehicles
« on: June 11, 2021, 04:05:07 am »
My plan is, after clearing my current work off the Bench is to purchase a couple of Hanomag 251's, I have one, a 251C already, but after seeing that Deuce and a Half, inspired by the Monument Men on another thread, extremely well done I might add, I plan to build one of the Hanomags with a full canvas top. What I do not have a clue about is the color of that canvas top. Does anyone here know? I like to use Vallejo paints, but if there is some other brand that makes an match for the color, I am open to that.

Thanks in advance

06/24

• Private
    • View Profile
Re: Painting German vehicles
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2021, 04:56:06 am »
Thanks for the kind words about the CCKW. I’m no expert but I think German canvas was in theory coloured the same as the vehicles, i.e. grey early war, dunkelgelb later etc. However, given the precarious raw material situation, I suspect any dying was of limited strength and would have faded quickly. In the same way the US vehicles are notionally OD overall, but the canvas generally appears a paler colour.

I found this link which seems fairly comprehensive:

https://panzerworld.com/german-armor-camouflage

Stuart

• Cadet
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2021, 05:43:05 am »
Thanks, that, and the link were very helpful.

Hope to see more of your work. I spent many an hour in a later model of your Deuce and a Half, and from what I remember, your's is spot on.

Tracks

• Sergeant
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2021, 12:33:58 pm »
Even though I spent a lot of time on this topic, I'm no expert, but I will share with you what little I know.